Historylinks Archive

The Bannockburn Challenge Shield

The Bannockburn Challenge Shield

Date Added: 18 September 2021 Year: 1973 Institution Name: dnhhl Cat No: | 2021_024 | Picture No: 14671

A monochrome photograph of the Bannockburn Challenge Shield winning team c . The donor provided the following information about her father Sqn Ldr (Squadron Leader) Roy Simons, with moustache, standing to left of the trophy, subsequently promoted and retired as a Group Captain. The photograph is believed to have been taken in a hangar at what was then RAF Kinloss, c 1973/74. Kinloss was later an Army base and the RAF moved to Lossiemouth, which used to be Royal Navy. This rifle team must have won the Bannockburn Challenge Shield in 1973-74 but there is no further information about what happened to the Shield after that. [This acquisition was as a result of the donor finding a previous Historylinks record of the Shield 2001.031 picture #326 and, in the interim, a further image taken in 1883 was acquired 2021_001_02 picture #14608]

Dimensions: digital image

Download Large Version (474kB)


The Bannockburn Challenge Shield is on display at Fort George, Inverness, Scotland.
I took a photo of it on my holiday in 2019 and saw the above photo when researching information on the shield for my photobook.
Comment left on 05 April 2022 at 05:56 by Robyn McLean
I was interested to see this photograph as I am rear right in the picture, as a Master Engineer, and a member, and sometime Captain, of the Kinloss shooting team. On my right is the Station Commander Gp Capt John de Severne. The front row L-R, Sg Robson, Cpl ?, Chief Tech Mick Upton, Jnr Tech Phil Raymond, who later won the prestigious RAF Queen’s Medal for champion rifle shot of the RAF. Roy Simons was a good friend to me during his time with the team.
By elimination I am reasonably confident that this photograph was taken in 1972. Group Capt George Chesworth took over as RAF Kinloss Station Commander in late 1972.
Comment left on 26 April 2024 at 19:28 by Chris Inward
Further to my previous comment, I am now able to identify 7 of the 8 in this picture. Back row L-R:
Fg Off ?, Sqn Ldr Roy Simons, Gp Capt John de Severne, Master Eng. Chris Inward, Front Row L-R:
Sgt Robby Robson, Sgt N. Jamieson, Ch.Tech Mick Upton, Jnr.Tech Phil Raymond, who later won the Queen’s Medal (not the Queen’s Prize as I noted in error earlier) for Champion Shot of the Air Force.
Comment left on 28 April 2024 at 10:30 by Chris Inward
Form Goes Here